clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tuesday's Daily Dosage - PMac, Bieksa, Varlamov...

New, 10 comments

There is a god... and it's pretty clear he's Canadian as Pierre McGuire is heading to NBC/Versus and will hopefully just make brief appearances on TSN.  It will be nice to not have to use the mute button anymore.  Sorry to our readers south of the border as you're inheriting our pain.

Kevin Bieksa re-signed with the Canucks for big money... he's a nice all-round fantasy option when he's healthy but that's been a challenge for him as he's averaged 57 games per season over the last four.  He could be in line for more PP time this coming year if the Canucks are unable to re-sign/replace Ehrhoff & Salo. 

The Flyers have given Andreas Nodl a two-year extension... given the Flyers depth up-front, he's not likely to see much time on a scoring line or the PP and, quite frankly, hasn't lived up to the potential that he showed in college.

Steve Yzerman likes to have lots of depth options on defense so I wouldn't get your hopes up but he's signed dman Bruno Gervais after picking him up in a trade at the draft.

The Panthers have acquired the rights to soon-to-be UFA Tomas Kopecky from the Hawks... never been a fan of this guy as his career high is the 42 points he had last year as a 29-year-old.  Pass on him, you'll be glad you did.

Sidney Crosby is working out... if this is news to you then welcome to two weeks ago.

WaPo reports that Semyon Varlamov is "unlikely" to resign with the Caps as a RFA as he's received some significant offers from KHL clubs.  I like Varlamov and wish he could stay healthy for a stretch but the Caps are in a good situation here with both Neuvirth and Holtby providing a fallback position if Varlamov plays hardball.

Alexander Vasyunov has signed to play in the KHL next season... dude couldn't cut it in the AHL so you're not missing much.

Here's a list of note-worthy RFAs that are set to become UFAs on July 1st after not receiving qualifying offers (some of them unconfirmed):

Tyler Kennedy, Matt D`Agostini, Sergei Shirokov, Brian Elliott, Anton Stralman, Sami Lepisto, Anthony Stewart, Rob Schremp, Jiri Tlusty & Christian Hanson.